Why we do what we do

When my girls were little I often got tired of them asking “Why?” every few seconds. But as I grow, I’m learning that sometimes it’s good to ask “Why?” Why do we do what we do?

A few months ago the weather guy was predicting severe storms to hit our area. The were talking about strong winds and possible power outages. We’ve been through long days without power (more on that at another time) so I wanted to be prepared. I found all the flashlights and candles I could, made a batch of brownies, and filled the bathtub with water. Now, we all know why I hunted out the flashlights and candles, and all of you who know me know why I made the brownies (no matter how bad things may be, a brownie always makes it better!) But no one could figure out why I had filled the bathtub full of water…not even myself! I told my friend what I had done to prepare for the storm.

“Why did you do that?” she asked…

“I don’t know. All I know is that’s what my Mama used to do when a storm was coming.”

“But you’re on city water.”

“Um…yeah…so?”

“So you only need to collect water if you have a well that runs on an electric pump.”

“Ohhhhhh.”(I felt so dumb…)

 

But isn’t that how we often do things, especially in ministry? If I had a nickel for every time I heard the phrase “well that’s just the way we’ve always done it” I would be able to fulfill my dream of buying new socks every week instead of washing them. But alas, no nickels, only ruts and traditions that I don’t always understand. So, as we start this new year of life and ministry I’m learning to ask “Why?” Why do we do this? Why do we do it this way or on this day or at this same place every year? Is it because it’s the best or right way or is it just because it’s the way we’ve always done it?

So what ruts do you find yourself in? Why do you do what you do?

One thought on “Why we do what we do

  1. Pingback: Peace in the Midst of the Storm « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

