Looking Up

Sometimes the mundane parts of my life drag me down. The never-ending “to-do” list, the ever-growing piles of laundry, the routine things that must be done but no one ever notices…unless you don’t do them. It doesn’t take much for me to get bored with the ruts I find myself in day after day. The thing that helps me keep doing these things that need to be done is having something to look forward to. This week I’ve been looking forward to a great Pastor’s wives retreat that I get to be a part of in Nashville next week! It should be a great time of encouragement and connecting with pastor’s wives across the country. I am so excited about going (and will probably write several more blogs about it so be prepared…)

Somehow, my excitement for next week’s event has bled over into this week’s routine. Every load of laundry has become a mental list of the clothes I want to take to the retreat. Every household task has become an act of preparation for my being away for a few days. All of a sudden the mundane things are not so mundane; rather, they are little steps that take me closer to this exciting event that I’ve been looking forward to for months! Now the thoughts of spending the day doing laundry and cleaning house make me want to put on my “do-rag”, crank up some Beckah Shae music and get busy. It’s no longer overwhelming and frustrating, but it’s exciting and joyful!

Sometimes this happens in my spiritual life as well. The mundane concerns weigh me down. I get bored with my Quiet Time, my prayers bounce off the ceiling, going to church becomes just something I do because I’m married to the preacher. But then something happens to remind me that all of this is for a purpose. Every moment is one step closer to standing in the presence of my Lord. Every faithful act is an act of preparation for His coming! And He IS coming! “One day the trumpet will sound for His coming, one day the skies with His glories will shine! Wonderful day my Beloved One bringing, my Savior, Jesus, is mine!

2 Corinthians 4:16-18 says, “Therefore we do not lose heart, though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes, not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

So when your laundry is piles up, when the kids are arguing, when your church duties overshadow your worship, when your husband is pulled in a thousand different directions, when everyone you talk to has a need they want you to meet…don’t lose heart. All these things are temporary. Live with eternity in view. Remember what we have to look forward to! Then crank up the music and get busy!

What about you? What mundane things drag you down? What are you looking forward to? What’s your favorite cleaning music? (Click on Beckah Shae’s link above to hear what I’m cleaning to today.)

7 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. Beautiful and true! I think I’ll crank up the radio and stop and dance everytime a fun tune comes on. That way my homemaking becomes a happy work out. And what would be better than the Lord returning to find me praising Him just because I choose to?

    Love love love your insight!

    Like

  2. This is so true for me! It’s so easy for me to lose sight of the purpose when things get overwhelming. Thanks for the reminder (and advice) to look up (and dance)! Exactly what I needed to hear this week! Thank you!

    Like

  3. Thanks for posting these words of encouragement! You put into words what I’ve been thinking as I’m getting ready for our upcoming trip. Those verses are part of my dish-washing routine ‘cuz they’re posted right above my kitchen sink! 😉 I used to clean with Barlow Girl so much that it finally got to the point where I would think “I need to be cleaning the bathroom” everytime I heard one of their songs on the radio!!! heehee! Have a great time at the conference – can’t wait to read your posts all about it!

    Like

    • I love it! Barlow Girls would be proud to hear that their songs remind you of cleaning toilets…( = Superchick is my usual choice, but branching out to Beckah Shae has been fun! Sure wish you could come to the conference, too. We need to get together, Girl! 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Don’t Judge Me! « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

