Boogers in Candyland (Guest Post by Lynna Clark)

My mama

My mom is starting her blog and already it is waaaaay cooler than mine. She asked me if she could share a story about my life in one of her posts and I agreed as long as she let me use the same story as a guest post on my blog…nepotism at its best!  Yes, this story is true & unexaggerated (in fact there are many more gross details that she politely left out). Please don’t judge me. 🙂

“Boogers in Candyland” by Lynna 

My daughter Stephanie and family had been on a cross country road trip, came home to VBS and was so busy that her youngest daughter’s bedroom got out of control, as in unbelievably gross. She said there was a trail of ants using a jump rope as their passageway to hidden snack wrappers. I had visions of them whistling a little tune on their happy journey to Candyland. With each hour of cleaning, a new treasure was discovered. When she described finding a mirror covered with boogers I asked, “Why isn’t she cleaning her own room?” Because the chore was so overwhelming that it was beyond her daughter’s understanding of exactly how to accomplish this task, Steph had put her daughter to cleaning the bathroom instead.

A friend suggested that she take pictures of each part of the room once she got it clean, and post them for her daughter’s reference. That way when mom says, “Is your room clean?” daughter would be able to compare her quarters with the picture to see if her understanding of clean met with her mom’s. [Desk cleared; trash emptied; booger-free mirror, etc.] What a great idea! In fact, I wish I had pictures. Not of my granddaughter’s clean room, although that may be frame worthy since it may never happen again this side of Glory. But how cool would it be if we had a picture of what the Lord would like to see when He looks at us? I wonder what it would look like.

Maybe I’d have a big beautiful smile with dazzling white teeth, and pretty clothes that exuded confidence. You know, so that when people find out I’m a Christian, they will immediately want what I have. Maybe my hair would be thick and Pantene-ish, so folks are naturally drawn to the Savior. I’ve always told my husband that I want to be cremated when I die so my friends and relatives will not be walking by an open casket going, “Finally got that hair right! Too bad she didn’t hire those funeral home guys while she was living.” Hmm… maybe my voice would be so beautiful that others would weep and run to the altar. Maybe I’d be accessorized perfectly, complete with a lovely scarf tied all trendy and accentuating my ensemble while hiding the wrinkles in my neck.

1Timothy 2:9-10 says, “And I want women to be modest in their appearance. They should wear decent and appropriate clothing and not draw attention to themselves by the way they fix their hair or by wearing gold or pearls or expensive clothes. For women who claim to be devoted to God should make themselves attractive by the good things they do.”

I’ve heard many a sermon preached on modesty. But it’s just as clear from this passage that more important than hair or jewelry or clothes is our life. What does my life say about Christ? Does it speak to the wounded soul that I am too busy to bear their burdens? Does it say to the poorly dressed that I am above associating with them? Do I say by my advice and quick Scripture clichés that I, unlike them, have it all together?  Does it shout to the girl at church in a miniskirt that I am way better than her?

I think I will smile, even though my teeth won’t dazzle. I think I will blow dry my hair so it looks thick enough to cover most of my scalp, and then forget about it. I think I’ll sing like nobody’s listening but the Lord. I might tie one on scarf-wise in case my neck wrinkles detract from the message. But mostly, I think I will become more deliberate in forgetting what “good” people think, and start caring more about attracting those who have no one to love them to the Savior.

Please help me Lord, to have the same picture of beauty that You do.

Kianna in her clean room

To read more from my mama click here or check out her blog: Lynna’s Wonderful Life

And if you get a chance, comment below to give her some encouragement on her new writing adventure!

 

 

 

One thought on “Boogers in Candyland (Guest Post by Lynna Clark)

  1. I am so enjoying your blog:) And I love your mama…..one of the kindest, humblest people I know and I am blessed to call her friend and fellow PW:) I’ll have to be sure and check out her blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

