I’m Thankful

This morning I woke up in a bad mood. My alarm clock failed and I woke up to my oldest daughter frantically telling me that she was going to be late for her cross-country practice (it starts at 6am…it was 5:55…).  After sitting in the parking lot for an hour in the heat…and in my pajamas…I was ready for home, a shower & some coffee. I got home in time to realize that my husband was getting ready to leave to run errands and get groceries and I had forgotten to make out a grocery list. I quickly scan the cabinets & fridge and put one word on the list of what we need: EVERYTHING. Things are still uncertain with our income and buying groceries stresses me out…not to mention that school starts in 3 days and we hadn’t bought the first pencil or bottle of hand sanitizer. As my husband waved good-bye I turned to find both girls waiting for me to make breakfast…but there is no milk, cereal, poptarts, eggs, bread, or bacon in the house. I wanted to cry. Instead, I looked at the messy kitchen and spotted a gift from God: chocolate cake! It’s amazing what a gooey, rich, chocolaty piece of cake can do for a bad mood!

 

That chocolate cake reminded me that even though little things can put you in a bad mood, little things can also bring you right back to your happy place. So I began to intentionally notice the little things that I am thankful for today. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

* I am thankful for yummy coffee & cream to add to it

* I am thankful for my washer & dryer that work

* I am thankful for Disney princess movies- they always make me smile

* I am thankful for daughters who will watch Disney princess movies with me and sing along with all the songs…even though they believe they are too old for such things

* I am thankful for air-conditioning

* I am thankful for music- I got to listen to my youngest singing along to Mandisa’s “Good Morning” song as she cleaned her room today- so sweet!

* I am thankful for my husband who takes care of shopping for groceries & school supplies while balancing a tiny budget and a mile-long list and still takes time to text me from the store to tell me something funny he’s seen

* I am thankful for my girls being content with Wal-mart school supplies and hand-me-down clothes to start the new school year

* I am thankful for Wal-mart spiral notebooks that are currently very cheap- I use them all year long & am thinking of buying a stack and giving them to my sisters for Christmas! 😉

* I am thankful for church members who send me e-mails just to tell me what they like about me or my husband’s work on Sunday

* I am thankful for my comfy chair that I can read, write, watch TV, sleep, and lounge in

* I am thankful that my husband has his own comfy chair beside mine

* I am thankful for summer fun

* I am thankful that school is getting ready to start again

* I am thankful for my online friends who encourage me more than they know

* I am thankful that I know the One who holds my future in His hands

* And I am thankful for chocolate cake!

 

Do you need a pick-me-up today? Click on the Mandisa link above…or have some chocolate cake…or maybe simply count your blessings. By the time you “name them one by one” your mood will surely be lifted! 🙂

What are you thankful for today?

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Thankful

  1. I did not wake up in a bad mood but most certainly one of a deep hurt over one of my past sins. Its a
    most miserable feeling. However, I am thankful for the fact that: the Lord lovingly reminded me to come
    to Him to meet my need & I am also thankful that I have a husband who cares for my hurt & reminds
    me of God’s goodness, kindness & how He does not hold things over my head. On a smaller scale I am soooo thanful for Sonic, not sure how people survived before there was a Sonic with happy hour, then
    there is my A.C., iced coffee, laptops & the occasional dvd I settle in to watch with the hubby. Those are some of my favorite or ummm thankful things. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am thankful for you – reading your writing is like chocolate cake for me! I had chocolate cake for breakfast too – but it did have zucchini in it so it made me feel like I was getting a little but of added nutrition!! 😀 Thank you for the reminder to count my blessings!

    Like

  3. I am thankfull for my $3 shoes that I got at Kohls today. They are super sassy! By the way, I like your new background, it is super sassy too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

