Creative Ministry: Ask, Seek, Knock

I’ve been asking God for something, but I’m afraid I’m starting to get on His nerves. I started asking Him for this same something 2 years ago, and He said “No” or, maybe, “Not now.” Recently, I’ve started asking again because I felt like He wanted me to start asking again…like, maybe His answer will finally be “Yes!” or even “Now is the right time!” So I’m asking…and asking…as I wake up in the morning, as I drive around town, as I wash dishes or fold laundry, as I lay down to sleep…I’m asking. And part of me is worried that God is going to get frustrated with me and tell me to just leave Him alone! But that’s not how God works. He wants us to ask. In fact, He tells us, not only to ask, but to keep on asking!

A couple of years ago we had a revival series on prayer. One of the sermons was based on Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” We wanted to add some creative arts to the usual singing & sermon routine so I wrote a quick sketch based on that verse.

The sketch involves 3 Readers and 2 Actors (parent & child ages). Our readers stood to one side while our actors used the center stage. (I love using “Readers” because it requires no acting skill or memorization. It’s great for getting non-dramatic people involved in creative ministry. Oh, and…when I say “actors” I simply mean people who are willing to speak and move at the same time…our “actors” in this sketch were just me and my oldest daughter…we ad-libbed the scenes based on our normal lives together…) The following is our script: (the numbers refer to the readers)

1: Ask, and it will be given to you 

2: Seek, and you will find

3: Knock, and the door will be opened to you

1: For everyone who asks- receives

2: The one who seeks- finds

3: And to the one who knocks- the door will be   opened.

2: Ask

3: Ask

1: Keep on asking

All: And it will be given to you

(Parent/child actors enter and ad-lib a scene)

Mom is sitting or standing by the table “cooking” (I like to use minimal props so I had a large pot that I was stirring and pretending to add ingredients to…you could be more elaborate, but it’s best to not to have too much that makes changing scenes complicated…) Mom is cooking & child walks in holding her stomach. She begins to groan. Mom looks at her but keeps on stirring. Child’s groans get louder and more pronounced as she holds her stomach and looks longingly at the pot of food. Mom finally says “Honey, what is wrong with you?” Child (groaning) “I am sooo hungry!” Mom: “Well, I’ve got all the food you need right here! Why didn’t you ASK?”

(scene freezes or actors move off stage and attention is directed to the readers)

1: Ask, and it will be given to you

2: Seek, and you will find

3: Knock, and the door will be opened to you

1: For everyone who asks- receives

2: The one who seeks- finds

3: And to the one who knocks- the door will be   opened.

3: Seek

1: Seek

2: Keep on seeking

All: And you will find

(Parent/child actors enter and ad-lib a scene)

Mom is standing with purse & keys in hand as if ready to go somewhere. Mom: Are you ready to go? Child: I think so. Mom: Do you have your glasses/shoes/book/instrument/money? (pick one that fits your situation) Child: No…I can’t find it. Mom: Have you looked for it? Child: Ummm…no. Mom: Well…look for it! We’ve got to get going! Child casually “looks” for missing item but doesn’t really search hard. (you know how kids look for things…just sorta glance around and if it doesn’t jump out and bite them, they can’t find it…not that I’ve ever experienced that when I’ve been running late for church or something… 🙂 ) Child: I can’t find it. Mom: You’ve got to really look for it. Come on, I’ll help you. Both walk around the stage looking for item. They are thorough: looking under seats, in the plants, behind the piano…Finally, the item is found! Child: Whew! I’m so glad I found it! I was afraid it was lost for good! Mom: I’m glad you found it, too. Good thing we kept on searching!
(scene freezes or actors move off stage and attention is directed to the readers)

1: Ask, and it will be given to you

2: Seek, and you will find

3: Knock, and the door will be opened to you

1: For everyone who asks- receives

2: The one who seeks- finds

3: And to the one who knocks- the door will be   opened.

1: Knock

2: Knock

3: Keep on knocking

All: And the door will be opened to you

(Parent/child actors enter and ad-lib a scene)

Mom is behind a closed door (our building has doors on stage for the choir, so that worked well. But you could also use a divider or some other prop to act as a door)
Daughter knocks. Mom answers “come in” from inside the door.
Daughter knocks again. Mom answers more loudly “Come In!”
This happens several times with the knocks getting more persistent and the answer getting louder and more frustrated.
The last time the daughter knocks, the mom slings the door open and yells: “WHAT?!?!?!?!”
The daughter steps back and in a rather small voice says…”I love you” (nervous giggle)
Mom sighs, wraps her arms around her daughter and replies…”I love you, too.”
(scene freezes or actors move off stage and attention is directed to the readers)

2: Ask

3: Ask

1: Keep on asking

All: And it will be given to you

3: Seek

1: Seek

2: Keep on seeking

All: And you will find

1: Knock

2: Knock

3: Keep on knocking

All: And the door will be opened to you

1: For everyone who asks- receives

2: The one who seeks- finds

3: And to the one who knocks- the door will be   opened.

All: Because your Father in heaven loves you.

 ****************************************************************

God sure does love us even more than we as parents love our children. So today I’m going to keep on asking, keep on seeking, and keep on knocking because I know that God loves me and cares about me and wants to hear from me today. I hope this sketch encourages you. Please feel free to use it in your own ministries and to tweak the scenes to reflect your own characters or situations. All I ask is that you give credit for the original idea and let me know if you use it so I can rejoice with you over God’s working in your life, too! To God be the glory!

PS. The script can be downloaded here in printable form. ASK, SEEK, KNOCK

 

 

2 thoughts on “Creative Ministry: Ask, Seek, Knock

Leave a Reply

