Almost 13 years

Daddy & Mykaela born 9/2

Tomorrow I will officially be the mom of a teenager! It’s hard to believe that 13 years ago today I was walking around the French Quarter in New Orleans in 95 degree weather hoping that the exercise would hurry things along…this baby was 3 days overdue and we were ready to get this show on the road! They took me in the next day to induce labor and about 5 hours later things were progressing nicely. Suddenly, one of the monitors starts beeping and the nurses start moving frantically. They make me sit up, move me around, check all the connections then call the doctor in. They had lost our baby’s heartbeat. The doctor came in and immediately starting barking orders. The one thing I remember hearing him say was “We’ve got to get this baby out NOW!” The next few minutes were filled with excruciating pain and fear. Finally our little girl emerged…the umbilical cord was wrapped around her neck. The doctor untwisted everything and she rared back and let out the most beautiful cry I’ve ever heard. {sniff sniff}  I wasn’t intending to write a sappy birth story…but thinking about my, now 13-year-old, baby brought back such vivid memories! Sorry about that…next time I’ll try to give a “Kleenex alert” at the beginning…

Mykaela at (almost) 13

So, now my little baby girl is turning into a beautiful young lady. She is tall, smart, and very self-sufficient. She is able to stay at home alone, make her own breakfast & lunch, do her own laundry (sometimes), and keep up with her shoes (most of the time). But there is more to growing up than learning how to cook or keep track of your cell phone minutes. My desire is that my daughter would grow into a woman of character who loves God more than anything, who chooses the right path no matter what others are doing, and who fulfills all that God has created her to be. (As a side note, I also desire that she would learn to put her dirty clothes in the laundry basket instead of throwing them on the floor…but I don’t want my expectations to be too high…)

 

In preparing for Mykaela’s 13th birthday I gave her some special verses to memorize. These verses come from a small wooden coat rack that my best friend in college made for me. I was expecting Mykaela while I was a senior in the Bible Teaching program at Columbia International University. My friend Shannon invited lots of girls from my old dorm & student teaching classes to a baby shower in Mykaela’s honor. The girls were all basically poor college students so the gifts were not fancy. But one of the sweetest things these girls did was to write down a verse that they wanted to share with my daughter.  They wrote these verses down in colored pencil and Shannon cut them out and glued them to a small wooden coat rack. Then her husband, Jason, covered them with clear top coat and attached hardware to the back for hanging. This past week I took that rack off the wall and copied the verses into a special notebook for my daughter. I told her the story behind the rack & the verses. I told her about each of the ladies who spoke these verses into her life before she was even born. And then I challenged her to memorize these verses in order to make them part of her own life. It was a very good conversation because it showed her how special she is and how important God’s Word is to me. I pray that she will allow those Words to go down deep in her heart and take root in order to produce good fruit in her life! I pray that she will look back at her 13th birthday and recognize it as a time where God took over and continued the work He started at her birth.

What about you? Do you have a verse that you would like to share with my daughter? If there was one verse that you could memorize to help you through your whole life, which one would it be? My daughter and I would love to hear your favorite verses, too. Maybe she can memorize them for her 14th birthday! 🙂

PS…Look for another post about this momentous birthday tomorrow…I promise it will be more light-hearted than this one…We’re having a party!!! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Almost 13 years

    • That’s a great passage! Did you read the script I wrote for it last week? Check out “Ask, Seek, Knock”…you might be able to use it in your youth group or something. Wish you & Shane could be here to celebrate with us! 🙂

      Like

  1. Dear Sweet Mykaela, and Stephaine too,

    “For though I am far away from you, my heart is with you.. And I rejoice that you are living as you should and that your faith in Christ is strong.” -Col. 2:5

    Stay strong my beloved ones!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Time for a PARTY! « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

  3. Pingback: Birthday Party Follow-Up « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

  4. Pingback: Life With a Teen PK « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

