Creative Ministry: Worship Is…

Three years ago God lead me to start a creative ministry team at our church. We call ourselves the CAMELs which stands for Creative Arts Ministry Enhancement League. I know. It’s a stretch. But we’ve sure had fun using a camel for our mascot on all our stuff! 🙂 When we began we had no idea what God was going to do through our feeble talents. We are a small church in a rural community. We have a blended service but the most “rockin'” song we ever sang was “Awesome God”…the 1986 version. But we knew that God was calling us to step out and do something different. So we began. Our first project was a series on worship. We spent an hour brain-storming about worship…what it is, how we express it, what causes it, etc. I compiled our list into a dramatic reading of sorts and we used it to start our worship service. (On a side note…a dramatic reading is an excellent way to get people started in creative ministry. It is non-threatening to traditional church members and most people find reading much easier than acting.)

The following was read aloud by a man and two women. They alternated reading each line. The lines in all caps were read together. The pianist played “Come, Now Is the Time to Worship” softly in the background as they read. Writing this script was an act of worship and I pray that you will be led to worship as you read it.

Worship Is

Come! Now is the time to worship!

But what is true worship?

Worship is glorifying God for Who He is.

 Thanking Him for what He’s done.

It’s our response to His working in our life.

A sacrifice of praise.

Worship is giving the best of what I have:

My money.

My talent.

My heart.

MY ALL.

How is true worship expressed?

Psalm 71:23 says “My lips will shout for joy when I sing praise to You!”

 Psalm 5:7 says, “I enter Your house by the abundance of Your faithful love; I bow down toward Your holy temple.”

 True worship is expressed through singing.

Shouting!

Lifting my hands

Bowing my head.

Dancing

Crying

LIVING.

When can I experience true worship?

When I consider the number of the stars over the vast expanse of the ocean I worship God in His greatness.

 When I seen the fragile beauty of a rose or the peaceful slumber of a newborn baby I worship God as the Father who cares for me.

 When I slow down the frantic pace of my life long enough to notice the colors of a rainbow stretching across the sky I worship God because He always keeps His promises.

  “The heavens declare the glory of God and the sky proclaims the work of His hands

Worship may be unexpected but it is not accidental.

True worship is intentional.

All-consuming.

Life-changing.

Intense.

Liberating.

UNIFYING.

Shout triumphantly to the Lord, all the earth!

Serve the Lord with gladness

Come before Him with joyful songs.

Enter His gates with thanksgiving.

Enter His courts with praise!

We can worship God in a building surrounded by His people.

We can worship God in a garden surrounded by His creation.

We can worship God in the quietness of our hearts surrounded only by His presence.

Psalm 116 says, “How can I repay the Lord all the good He has done for me? I will take the cup of salvation and worship the Lord.”

I worship God every time I think about His sacrifice.

His holiness.

His provision.

His forgiveness.

His faithfulness.

HIS LOVE.

Psalm 122 says, “I rejoiced with those who said to me, Let us go to the house of the Lord.”

Psalm 37 says, “Be silent before the Lord and wait expectantly for Him.”

Psalm 18 says, “I will praise You in the great congregation;

I will exalt You among many people!”

True worship is joyful!

Loud!

Victorious!

Believing.

Desperate.

Awe-struck.

Silent.

COME! NOW IS THE TIME TO WORSHIP!

Feel free to use this in your church or ministry. Just give a little shout out to me & the Spottsville CAMELs since this is an original creation. Download the Word document of this script here: What Is Worship  Let me know what you think and if you use it… I love hearing how God takes our little seeds and grows great fruit! 🙂

One thought on “Creative Ministry: Worship Is…

  1. Pingback: Raise Your Hand If You’re Sure! « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

