Write You On My Hand

The other day a friend texted me and asked me to pray for her. She was having a rough day and needed prayer all day long. I tend to say that I will pray for someone and then promptly forget all about it as soon as something else occupies my attention. I knew it was important to remember to pray for this special friend so I wrote her name on my hand. Throughout the day, whenever I noticed her name on my hand I would breathe a prayer for her. It was a good reminder of one of my favorite verses:

Jerusalem says, “The Lord has deserted us;
      the Lord has forgotten us.”

“Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child?
      Can she feel no love for the child she has borne?
   But even if that were possible,
      I would not forget you!
See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.”

Isaiah 49:14-16

I must admit. There are times when I feel like God has forgotten me. Maybe He has lost my file. Or maybe He has gotten distracted with something more important. I’m just one small person…easily forgotten…right?

NO! God has promised that He will never leave us or forsake us! He has a plan for our lives! He loves us! He has not forgotten. Can a mother forget her child? (Well…speaking from experience…yes…that’s sometimes possible…if the mother has not slept in several days because the child has colic…and the child is finally sleeping peacefully…and the mother has to run to the grocery store…and the phone rings…and…well…let’s just say…yes: occasionally a new mother may ACCIDENTALLY forget her new baby…but only for a moment…) But God says that even if a mother could completely forget about the child in her arms, He will not forget about us! He even goes so far as to write/inscribe/engrave/tattoo our name on His hands! His wonderfully strong hands that shaped the world and brought life into existence. His hands that covered Moses in the cleft of the rock as His glory passed by. His hands that stretched out on the cross and were pierced by the nails of my sin. Those hands. My name is written on those hands.

What a comforting thought! No matter what you feel like today: He has not forgotten you!

He has written you on His hands!

That’s how important you are to Him!

 

4 thoughts on “Write You On My Hand

  1. Amen, Sister! I am SO in this season where I feel I’ve been put on the back burner and I’m left thinking to myself – “Does He see what’s going on around here?! How much longer before we get some relief?!” I’m with your mom – definitely one of my favorites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

