Creative Ministry: Is That In The Bible?

Have you ever heard somebody make a statement and claim it’s from the Bible…yet you are pretty sure it’s not? Growing up my parents drilled into me the importance of knowing my Bible and my college professors reinforced that idea by constantly forcing us to prove our beliefs with CHAPTER & VERSE. But not everyone has that background or training. During my 13+ years in church ministry I have noticed that many “average” Christians have no idea what the Bible actually says. They rely on their pastor or Sunday school teachers to tell them what God says.

I wrote this sketch in an effort to draw people’s attention to the need for us to all know what the Bible says and the importance of reading the Bible as part of their daily life. I love using humor and exaggerated stereotypes in order to make a point, and this one was so much fun to do! Our youth guy played the part of the “secular” person and he hammed it up- totally making the sketch a blast! I hope you are able to use this in your own ministries as well!

It’s In the Bible

Characters:

#1- Religious follower; holds large Bible; “If it sounds spiritual, it must be true.”

#2- Cliché follower; holds pretty Bible; “If it sounds good, it must be true.”

#3- Secular follower; holds no Bible; “If it sounds familiar, it must be true.”

#4- Christ follower; holds open Bible; “If it’s in the Bible it IS true.”

 

4:(reading from Bible)” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

3: “You’ve got to pull yourself up by your own bootstraps.”

2:” Shoot for the moon, ‘cause even if you miss you’ll land among the stars!”

1: “God helps those who help themselves.”

4: Wait a minute! That’s not in the Bible.

1: Yes it is.

4: Where in the Bible?

1: Umm…I know it’s in there somewhere…or something to that effect.

4: Well, let’s try to stick to what the Bible says, OK?

(pause)

4: (reading from Bible) “Straight is the gate and narrow is the way that leads to life.”

1: “Take the road less traveled.”

2: “All roads lead to heaven”

3: Umm…”life is a highway”?

4: Ok. We’re supposed to be telling people what God says about things.

2: I’ve got one! “When God closes a door, He opens a window.”

4: Where are you getting this information?

2: I heard it from a very famous woman on television.

1: I heard my information at church.

3: Rascal Flatts.

4: Rascal Flatts is not in the Bible…and neither is most of this stuff you’ve been saying. (to 3) Do you even have a Bible?

3: No, I’ve never needed it before.

4: Somebody get this man a Bible!

1: He can have mine.

2: Don’t you need yours?

1: No, I’ve got it all right here (point to head).

4: I think you need to keep your Bible and make sure you know what it really says.

(someone offstage hands 3 a Bible)

4: OK, so we’ve all got our Bibles. Are you ready? Let’s tell everyone what the Bible says about money.

3: Oh, I know that one! That’s easy!

4: Really? What does God say about money?

3: Show me the money!

4: Maybe you should actually open your Bible and see what it says.

2: (hesitantly)I think I’ve got one: “God loves a cheerful giver.”

4: OK, good! That’s really in the Bible!

1: I have a better one: (proudly) Money is the root of all evil.

4: You might want to check that again.

1: (sheepishly) The love of money is the root of all evil.

4: Great! I think we’re starting to get the hang of it. Let’s see what the Bible says about relationships…(reading from the Bible) “Wives submit to your husbands.”

1: Now I KNOW that’s not in the Bible!

4: See for yourself (point to the Bible passage) The Bible says a lot of hard things, but just because we don’t like what it says doesn’t mean we don’t have to do what it says.

2: Like this? “Love your enemies and pray for those who hurt you.” Matthew 5:44

3: “Resist the devil and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

1: “In everything give thanks for this is God’s will for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

4: “God’s Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” Psalm 119:105.

4: So take His Word

3: Open it!

2: Read it!

1: Know it!

ALL: Live it!

As usual, feel free to print out and use this script in your own ministry, but please do not copy and use as your own. All scripts and sketch ideas are the property of Stephanie Shouse & the Spottsville CAMELs. Please give credit when you use these Creative Ministry resources. Thanks! 🙂

Click here to download a printable version of this script! Is That In The Bible?
I’d love to hear what you think! Leave your comments below!
Leave a Reply

