Tough Decisions

Every day is full of tiny decisions: cold cereal or grits for breakfast? wear flip-flops or tennis shoes? clean to Newsboys or TobyMac? I am not a very decisive person and if the decisions get tougher than these I start sweating. This week, let’s just say I’ve been sweating a lot! We survived an extremely busy weekend only to discover that we have a very busy week ahead of us…full of tough decisions.

This week I received the news that my girls’ insurance has been changed and it’s causing all sorts of trouble. Our KCHIP (Kentucky Children’s Health Insurance Program) has been divided into 3 different managed care groups. We were randomly put in group #1…but our pediatrician now only serves group #3. I figured out that I can change groups if I can ever get someone at the state office to answer my call, but then discovered that our dentist who we love is only working with group #1. So I have to decide whether to stay in our group and keep our dentist or try to change groups so we can keep our pediatrician! A tough choice… (fyi…I’m gonna work on keeping our pediatrician no matter how long I have to be on hold…and I’m going to try to focus on being thankful that we didn’t get put in group #2 who, apparently, didn’t get any doctors!)

Another tough decision for me was whether or not to take a subbing job for tomorrow. Our week was already busy, so it was hard to say yes to an all day assignment. But I haven’t gotten many calls this year and it would sure be nice to have a little extra money right before Christmas, so saying no to this assignment would be hard, too. I ended up saying yes, and worked really hard on my housework today so I wouldn’t feel so far behind.

So far, the decisions were hard but they have been made without too much trouble. But there’s one last choice to be made. I have a friend who is not a Christian. She is searching and asking questions about life, parenting, marriage, and “religion.” She has asked me to meet her at the YMCA to workout on Thursday. I know that spending this time with her will strengthen our relationship and possibly open more doors for good conversations. However, one of our church members has been in the nursing home for months, and her regular caregiver has a meeting to attend. She has asked if I would come sit with her on Thursday. I know she is lonely and needs encouragement. So what do I do?

“The lot is cast into the lap, but every decision is from the LORD.” Proverbs 16:33

Praying that God will give me wisdom and that He will work out the details so His will can be done. What about you? Facing any tough decisions this week?

 

One thought on “Tough Decisions

  1. Ephesians 2:10 says “We are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” So, we can do the good works that come before us without anxiety, knowing that the Lord is in control of even the stuff on our “to do” lists.

    Like

Leave a Reply

