Life With a Teen PK

I do not like roller coasters. All those ups & downs…the unexpected twists and turns…and especially the feeling of being out of control! People who ride them voluntarily are crazy!

My oldest & her daddy after her first roller coaster ride

These last couple months living with our teenager has felt much like a roller coaster. Our oldest daughter turned 13 in September and is currently in the 8th grade. Some days she makes us so proud…others she makes me want to pull my hair out! Here’s a sample of our roller coaster ride as parents to a teenage girl~

  • She forgot to make a food dish to take to her international food day event for her foreign language class, so she woke me up early to make a big batch of baked spaghetti at 5 am…on a school day…and she woke me up with the words “We forgot to make my spaghetti for school!” WE??? Not a great way to start the day. 😦
  • She started out running cross-country for the middle school but because she is a hard worker (and they needed her to fill a spot) the coach moved her up to run with varsity. When she passed one of her teammates out of sheer determination I was so proud! 🙂
  • I sent her to brush her teeth one evening before bed. When I went to tuck her in, I noticed only 2 toothbrushes by the sink…and one of them was mine. I wasn’t born yesterday, so I asked the girls if they had both brushed their teeth. Both answered yes. Then I asked which one did not use a toothbrush. Both answered “not me!”  {pause} Which one of you used MY TOOTHBRUSH?!? My 13-year-old daughter used my toothbrush! And put it back hoping I would not notice! GROOOOOOSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!! 😛
  • She came home from her youth Bible study the other day and told me she knows what God wants her to do with her life. They had been studying spiritual gifts, passions, talents, calling, etc. Up until this study she had thought she wanted to be in either culinary arts or computer forensics. Yeah…that’s quite the wide range of career choices. But after learning about how God has made her and the fact that He has a plan for her life, she came home singing a different tune. Now she knows that God wants her to travel around helping people who are going through hard times and telling them about Jesus. How cool is that?! 🙂
  • Saturday was her last cross-country race of the season. We had high hopes and were looking forward to watching her run one more time. But something happened mentally that slowed her down and caused her to have a terrible race. As she passed me on the first lap she was dead last. I called out to her all the encouraging things that moms say: “Keep going, honey!”, “Don’t quit!”, “You can do it!”  As she came closer I continued to call out encouragement- still proud no matter how far behind she was. She looked at me and yelled “I CAN’T do it! This is STUPID! LEAVE ME ALONE!”……. WHAT DID SHE JUST SAY TO ME?!?  Oh, no she didn’t! Somebody get the preacher! We’re about to have a come-to-Jesus moment right here in front of God and everybody! Don’t make me come out there! I will jerk you off this course, whoop your tale, and still make you finish this race!… But what I actually said was “Keep going, honey…don’t quit…I love you!” 😦
  • We had revival services this past weekend. Not actual revival…just the services…but that’s a post for another day, I suppose. My girls were not excited about having to go to church on Friday and Saturday in addition to all day Sunday, but I tried to help them focus on the purpose behind it and have a good attitude anyway. We had the guest preacher and his lovely wife over for supper before the service on Friday, and I was so proud of my girl. She carried on a mature and respectful conversation with the couple and shared information about her life in a positive and humble way. She told the about being on the cross-country team, learning a foreign language, taking accelerated classes, representing her class on student council, becoming co-editor of the middle school newspaper, and recently being chosen by her principal to become a peer mentor to struggling 6th graders. The pastor looked at me & my husband and commented on what an amazing young lady we are raising. It was a good reminder. 🙂
Our kids are pretty amazing. Sometimes I let the little crazy things that they do distract me from the amazingly awesome people they are becoming. I have to remember that life is a process. It’s not their job to have it all figured out, it’s their job to keep learning & growing. And it’s not my job to make them perfect, it’s my job to train them in the way they should go. I am thankful that God has given me these girls to train and I pray that I will lead them in such a way that they grow up to love God, love people, and be able to laugh when their own kid use their toothbrush one day! 🙂
6 thoughts on “Life With a Teen PK

  1. I’m so thankful for your insight!! Especially today…report card day…and I’m so not happy with my middle-schooler! 😦 Thanks for the reminder to keep on loving him and teaching him throughout this roller coaster ride!

    Like

Leave a Reply

