From Desert to Fountain (Part 1)

Recently my life has been like a desert. My strength was sapped. My joy was dried up. My interactions filled with prickly pains. My shoes filled with sand… well that last one might have more to do with my housekeeping skills than ministry…but you get the idea. The last several months in ministry have been spent pouring myself into people only to discover that it is not enough. I’ve spent so much of my energy trying to make my life work only to be criticized or ignored. On the outside I was trying to smile, speak positively, and work with enthusiasm but my heart was in the pit of despair. I am not enough. I cannot keep doing this preacher’s wife thing. Maybe my husband should go to work at Radio Shack…

BUT GOD…(I love that)…But God saw me, heard me & sent me what I needed. He cleared my schedule, provided the means, and sent me numerous reminders which allowed me to be a part of the first week of the Just One Conference. After only 1 hour of listening to these wonderfully transparent women of God my heart was filled to overflowing! I feel like that spring we used to sing about in Sunday School…bubblin’ over! My husband is a bit tired of hearing me tell him all the great stuff I learned, so I decided to write it all down to share with y’all! Maybe, just maybe, one of you out there are starting to feel like a dessert. I hope that through this writing today that I can offer a drizzle of encouragement that will get you through the week. (If you want the complete flooding that I experienced I will put the link to next week’s conference at the end of this post!)

Things I Learned from the Just One Conference (Week 1)

Theme Verse: Teach believers with your life: by word, by demeanor, by love, by faith, by integrity. 1 Tim. 4:12

  1. Lead with your life by Kay Warren: Life in the fishbowl is hard. It’s overwhelming sometimes when you realize that people are always watching you because you are the pastor’s wife or a leader in ministry. Don’t get bogged down thinking about how unfair that is. Instead, realize that people are and always will be watching so we need to give them something good to look at. We are already leading with our life, so I must be intentional about where my life is leading. The apostle Paul told his people several times to imitate or follow him as he followed Christ (1 Cor. 11:1; 1 Cor. 4:16; Phil. 3:17). This is intimidating to me because who am I that people should follow me? However, my desire is to follow wholeheartedly after Christ, to live completely surrendered to Him, and to be an example of a true follower of Christ. So, if I’m living according to what I believe, then telling people to follow me should not be a problem. People need to see that our lives reflect our faith/beliefs. My favorite quote from this session: “Look on, evaluate me, scrutinize me, criticize me if you feel you’re justified & if you see me following Christ, then follow me!” Not sure I’m ready to post that for all to see on my Facebook status, but I’m working on getting to that point… I’m now asking myself (& you, too): Are you ready to start intentionally leading with your life? (Heb. 13:7)

OK…I wrote all the good stuff I learned and my blog post was over 2,000 words! So…I’ve decided to break it into several posts…Tune in tomorrow for the rest of the story… 🙂 Also, you can click the picture below to go to the site which will give you all the info so you, too, can be a part of the Just One Conference!

PS…I’d love to hear your thoughts on burn-out, leading, life in the fishbowl, or other things that have come to mind as you’ve read today! Leave a comment below…

3 thoughts on “From Desert to Fountain (Part 1)

  1. I understand completely. I have been going through the same thing…For months I had been talking to my husband about how I wished there were some way for Pastor’s wives to connect better virtually. After months of not really finding anything that hit the spot, I decided maybe I just didn’t need anyone. I mean, really, I only need God right?….Then my husband sent me a link to Leading and Loving It….so Ok, maybe God is showing me that I was wrong:) I have felt dry & also like I wasn’t enough, but I also feel like the glass in the fishbowl is so transparent that I could never let anyone know. I have really been faithful to spending time with the Lord everyday and reading scripture, but some how have felt am still missing something. Thanks for sharing, it was really encouraging!

    Like

    • The Leading & Loving It community saved my sanity last year! So thankful for the technology and leadership that makes such groups possible! Very glad we don’t have to do this alone. Looking forward to getting to know you, Sara! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: From Desert to Fountain (Part 2) « Confessions of a Not So Perfect Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

