According to Plan

I’m an aunt! This story is the account of my middle sister and her new baby. The original post can be found at my mom’s blog www.lynnaswonderfullife.wordpress.com .
Finally! A day after he arrived we got to see our miracle baby. A tiny perfect package of grace! Our daughter Amanda was due to give birth on May 13. But on February 28, the doctor wisely delivered our grandson ahead of schedule. Even the baby showers aren’t until the end of March, another month away.

And I had plans!

“I will crochet a beautiful blanket to bring him home in, something soft, green and blue. I wonder if I remember how to crochet. I probably have time to learn to knit. And we need to finish the nursery. She wants to use cloth diapers so I will go online and research the most cost effective way to make that happen. If I can find a giant letter “A” to put in his room that would be cute. Even though I don’t know his name yet, she did say that it starts withA. If it had an Atlanta Braves slant that would work well since she has always been a fan. Oh! Our baby grandson! We can do boy stuff!”

But he’s here already. Wow! What a happy turn of events.

Had the Lord stuck with the schedule “baby A” most likely wouldn’t have survived. We could’ve lost sweet Amanda as well. Our hearts would be broken instead of bursting with joy. And we’ve had enough of that lately.

Oh dear God, thank You. Thank You that this time the change in plans resulted in unspeakable joy.

But Lord, when You choose to change the plans for unclear reasons which result in disappointment and broken dreams, help us to trust You then as well. Your Word is just as true at those times too.

Daddy Shane right out of delivery- bless his heart! He's holding a plastic apron he had worn in the operating room. That's not the grandbaby.

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the LORD. ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.’” Jeremiah29:11

“I will never fail you. I will never abandon you.” –Hebrews13:5

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.” –Romans8:28

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love.” –Romans8:38

Able Shane Huneycutt, 2 pounds, 15 ounces, 17 ½ inches long, with a head full of hair was fashioned by the Lord and formed for a purpose. His first accomplishment was to remind me that God has a plan, and His ways are always wise.

Able… as in, God is!

Leave a Reply

