Easter Truth

I love teaching the Bible. No other book has such truth and power! It’s definitely more interesting to teach than math and more life-changing than grammar or spelling (though I truly believe that had the original manuscripts been in English, God would have included instructions on the correct usage of their, there, & they’re…just sayin’) But I digress…

Although teaching the Bible to people of various ages is one of my favorite things, I do not currently teach a Sunday school class. I know. I’m a slacker. Actually, teaching takes a lot of my time and energy throughout the week and because I’m usually busy doing other things in the church, I let others fill those roles in order to alleviate some stress in my life.

Well, wouldn’t you know it…during the most stressful Sunday of the year- Easter- one of our Sunday school teachers was absent and I had to teach the lesson! I was excited but also rather perturbed. A Sunday school lesson for an adult class takes a lot of time and preparation. Add that extra time and energy to a day already filled with sunrise service, special music, a baptism, and a creative presentation involving paint and it makes for a very stressful Sunday!

But God gave me peace when He reminded me that His Word is a powerful tool, and that my only job was to present His Word. He would take care of the rest. So, I threw out the book we normally use and decided to present a lesson on the Truth of the Resurrection. I’m sharing the outline with you here in case you ever find yourself teaching a class on the spur of the moment during Easter… 🙂

The Truth About the Resurrection

I.     What Do We Know?

A. Jesus really did die (Some argue that Jesus just fainted on the cross and the cool air of the tomb revived Him)

Jn. 19:30-35, Mk. 15:42-44

B. Jesus was buried (Some argue that the women & disciples went to the wrong tomb)

Lk. 23:53, Mt. 27:57-66

C. Jesus rose again bodily (Some argue that it was only Jesus’ ghost or spirit or “shroud” that was seen)

Mt. 28:1-15, Lk 24:9-12, Jn. 20:19-29

II. How Do we Know these facts are True?

A. Scripture 1. Cor. 15:3-8, 1 Cor. 15:12-19

B. Testimony of Eye Witnesses Jn. 21:1-14, 24; Acts 2:22-24

C. Changed Lives & Willing Martyrs Acts 2:38-42, 4:13-14; Acts 7:54-60

III. So What? Why Are These Truths Important to Us?

A. Sin (Because of Jesus’ resurrection sin has no power over us)     Rom. 6:1-11

B. Death (Because of Jesus’ resurrection death is not a threat) 1 Cor. 15:54-57

C. Life (We live by the same power that raised Christ from the dead!) 2 Cor. 13:4, Phil. 3:10, Gal. 2:19-20

D. Hope (Because of Jesus’ resurrection, we have hope for the future) 1 Thes. 4:13-14

As a side note: I love getting dressed up on Easter! It comes from my childhood when we would get a new dress every Easter, and we’ve carried that tradition on with our girls. Here are a few of my favorite pics from Easters past… my camera is broken and I am waiting for my mother-in-law to send me the pics she took this year. Until then, hope you enjoy this lesson and these pictures! 🙂

Family Easter picture 1985ish
I'm the "happy" one in the middle 🙂

Family Easter 2011
Being silly is more fun when you're dressed up! 🙂

So what is something you love about Easter? Any special traditions or memories? Feel free to share here:

Leave a Reply

