2013 Theme

Finally…God is starting to show me the theme He has for me this year… are you ready for it? I hope I am!

2013 Theme: Wisdom & Confidence.

God is doing something amazing in our church. It appears that “Yesterday’s manure is becoming today’s fruit.” (aren’t Facebook quotes both appropriate and weird at the same time?) We went through so much a couple of years ago, but now we are finally beginning to see the fruit of our faithfulness. We went from 3 children to almost 30 children in our kids’ ministry. Last year the only ones volunteering to take care of the children during the service were my own daughters. Now we have 18 adults and youth signed up to rotate in leading and working with children’s church every month! In the last month we have had four new families begin actively attending our church- most of whom have never made a profession of faith! God has led me to start a women’s Bible study on Sunday nights even though I’ve never led a women’s study. God is doing amazing things! And the exciting part is that He is doing these things using me! Wait. Did I say “exciting”? What I meant to say is the “scary/unnerving/daunting” part is He is doing these things through ME! As this new year began I was completely overwhelmed. I needed to write a children’s curriculum, organize a kids’ choir, recruit volunteers, promote and plan the women’s study, invite the new families to dinner and make a schedule of events to keep everyone on track. I found myself completely stressed out!

LORD, I can’t handle all of this! It’s too much! What if I mess something up? How am I supposed to know what to write for the children’s lessons? Should we emphasize Scripture memory or Bible basics? How am I supposed to know what these kids need most? What about the women’s study? How am I supposed to lead a group of women who range from not-yet-a-believer to been-a-Sunday-school-teacher-longer-than-I’ve-been-alive? And what about these new families? So many of these ladies are watching me to see what being a Christian really means- yikes! How do I balance being authentic with being an example? Especially when I’m so very tired?!

Then I read

 Now if any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives to all generously and without criticizing, and it will be given to him.   James 1:5

And also

Teach us to number our days carefully so that we may develop wisdom in our hearts. Psalm 90:12

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow His instructions have good insight. Psalm 111:10

For this reason also, since the day we heard this, we haven’t stopped praying for you. We are asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding, so that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to Him, bearing fruit in every good work     Colossians 1:9-10

{Deep breath- hold it- let it out}

Wisdom. It’s what I need in order to do the things God is calling me to do in this new year. Where do I get wisdom? God. How do I get wisdom? Ask.

So I asked. And God answered. He gave me clear direction for the children’s lessons. He gave me lots of volunteers to work with these children. He gave me wisdom to say no to a few fringe projects… and He is giving me confidence as I live and lead for Him. Confidence not in my own abilities but in His power at work in me. Confidence that He is guiding me every step of the way. Confidence that He who has begun a good work in me will carry it on to completion!

I have learned of trust and faithfulness. I have experience forgiveness and healing. Now I am walking in wisdom and confidence. I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

What about you? Has God given you a theme for this year?

Leave a Reply

