Happy New Year! So Much To Do…So Little Time

It’s a new year! There’s so much I want to do better in 2014:

  • Eat healthier (but first I must get rid of all the Christmas candy left in the house…and it would be a total waste to throw away all those chocolate covered cherries…give me a few days to “work through” all of that…)
  • Exercise More (I’m thinking of training for a 5K coming up in the spring…but I hate running… but it’s supposed to be good for you and is a very effective way of losing weight…unless you follow it up by eating a box of chocolate covered cherries…)
  • De-clutter the house (so many hidden…and not-so-hidden corners that are full of things we don’t need or no longer use…outgrown clothes, old gadgets, broken items I will never get around to fixing… I’m going to get right on that!)
  • Get into a housecleaning routine that keeps our home sparkling and clutter-free at all times!
  • Memorize Scripture (one verse a day should be easy!)
  • Read more non-fiction books in addition to my daily Scripture reading and devotions. (There are 15 books in my Kindle queue waiting for me right now…plus 8 more by my chair…probably part of the clutter problem…)
  • Keep up with my non-local friends and family through e-mail and Facebook with personal messages and funny anecdotes posted bi-weekly
  • Keep up with my local friends and church peeps with hand-written letters, personal texts and meaningful phone calls daily
  • Do more for my husband by cooking his breakfast, helping him with ministry tasks, preparing healthy meals and snacks, and always having his laundry clean and accessible…
  • Do more for my kids by researching study techniques to help my oldest not flunk AP Government, learning Spanish so she and I can study together, gathering plenty of resources so our youngest can complete her science project with ease and enthusiasm, but also by making life fun and meaningful and not always about school… I will teach them to knit, crochet, and sew without using bad words. I will teach them to cook, clean, and be more organized…as soon as I learn to do those things myself… We will memorize Bible verses together, have family devotions, do community service and ministry together, have meaningful conversations about life, dating, and God, and we will make crafts and memories and scrapbooks every night after finishing homework, eating a healthy dinner, taking showers, laying out clothes for the next day, cleaning the house and completing our chore list.

Whew! Looks like I’m going to have to be the literal Proverbs 31 woman: getting up when it’s dark and going to bed after everyone else, too! I’m tired just thinking about it all! How am I ever going to do all these things and not lose my mind in the process? Then I remembered a verse I read recently:

“And I pray this: that your love will keep on growing in knowledge and every kind of discernment, so that you can determine what really matters…” Phil. 1:9-10

LORD, give me wisdom to know what really matters…which of these things on my To Do list are most important and which things should I let go?

He pointed me to another verse:

Romans 12:12

Romans 12:12

Ahh…so that’s the key: God wants me to BE rather than DO. BE joyful, BE patient, BE faithful, BE obedient. I cannot DO it all but God does not expect me to. He simply asks that I allow Him to make me who He created me to BE.

Now THAT I can do… I mean… BE! 🙂

What does God want you to BE this new year?

Leave a Reply

