God Provides: Teen Edition

I’ve discovered a new fact as a parent: teenagers are expensive! There are so many extra costs involved that are outside the realm of normal provisions. It would be easy to sit around and worry about such things… but then I think back to my own teenage experience and remember how God provided even for these extra things.

My parents were both in ministry at the Christian school where my sisters and I attended. At one time there were three teenage girls in our home: that’s a LOT of extra expenses! Looking back, though, I remember God provided even the little things (or the big “extra” things) in ways that I didn’t realize were miraculous.

I needed an expensive scientific calculator for school. The teacher gave me his old one.

I needed team shoes for the basketball team. Turns out the “sample” pair the company sent was just my size. (looking back I imagine my coach had something to do with that…)

I needed a dress for “prom.” A  cousin I didn’t even know that well gave me adress that was perfect! (I use “” because it was a Christian school so it was actually called a “banquet”…but basically it was our “prom” without the dancing). 🙂

I needed wanted a letter jacket and a class ring…and somehow God provided those things for me, too. I’m sure my mama’s money juggling system and my dad’s extra summer job may have had something to do with it… but at the time I just received these gifts as yet another of God’s provisions.

As my girls reach the teen years and talk turns to yearbooks, prom dresses and class rings, I feel myself starting to worry about such things. But God gently reminds me of His sweet promise to always provide, and once again I rest in knowing that He is faithful.

Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Matthew 6:28-30

Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you.
Matthew 6:28-30

*To read more about God’s Provision check out THIS POST or THIS ONE or THIS ONE from my mama!

Leave a Reply

