Superman or Wonder Woman?

There’s this awesome little roadside attraction my family and I found on one of our road trips. If you ever get a chance to visit Metropolis, Illinois, you definitely need to stop and take a picture with this guy!

Living dangerously...

Living dangerously…

Boy! If this guy was real it would sure be an intimidating sight! It reminds me of that verse that says “If God is for us, who can be against us?” In my mind I sorta picture God like that big Superman standing behind me. His power and might are mind-blowing! I feel strong and invincible when I know that God is standing right there with me!

Too often, though, I want to be known as the strong one. I want to put on the cape and take on the world in my own strength. I want people to be impressed by my abilities and in awe of my power… but what they eventually see is that I’m just pretending to have it all figured out. I’m like those people the Bible talks about who are “having a form of godliness but denying its power.” The fake becomes obvious and the reality of my weakness is laughable.

Wait...is that... Wonder Woman?

Wait…is that… Wonder Woman?

But God promises that His strength is made perfect in my weakness. When I step out from behind the mask, others are able to see God’s strength at work through me. Instead of people being impressed with my fragile ability, they are in awe of His mighty power! When I am weak, then I am strong. I am no longer trying to fake my way into making people think I’m wonder woman. Instead I’m standing firm in my weakness knowing that the ultimate Super Man is standing with me!

2-2-14

Have you ever tried to be a wonder woman? How can you take off the mask and let His strength take over for your weakness today?

One thought on “Superman or Wonder Woman?

Leave a Reply

